The Music of Games – for clmooc #3

Two worlds have converged in a surprising way this week – games and music!

My inspiring teacher-colleague, Kev Marquez,  posted a sound clip of Final Fantasy X-2 on Facebook and I loved it so much that I added them to my Pandora stations. I have always loved a lot of New Age music (Tangerine Dream, Deep Breakfast…) and George Winston-like piano work. Here is what he posted:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTfgtjcUTsY

Looking into who they were, I learn that they are game creators! And a track I just “liked” is from Halo! I am now fascinated by the role music plays in games. My first experience with this was with the game Myst. But at the time I was just fascinated by the game – to date it remains fixed in my mind as my idea of a video game “just right for me.” So here I go delving into the world of games via the world of music… I am not sure if I will actually get to play the games that the music comes from during this week of clmooc game time, but it has opened up a whole new world for me. Well, maybe not so new…

I remember playing parts of the soundtrack of Fantasia to my students and asking them to write the story they “saw” as  they listened. We then looked at their various narratives and Disney’s visual narratives and asked “why?” and what did each author “hear?” What if I played a video game soundtrack and asked them to “write the game”? What is happening? Where does this take place? Who is involved? What is the conflict?

This is already connected learning work because it is interest powered, peer supported and production centered. If I were to try to extend the connected learning principles it engaged, I might want students to create VoiceThreads of their stories. In VoiceThread, this could include the music tracks, images and peer responses. This would add openly networked and shared purpose to the goals and outcomes of the project.

 

One thought on “The Music of Games – for clmooc #3”

  1. There are whole job and art ecosystems around games just like movies. Deep, connected, and disciplined. I am glad to be reminded of this by your blog post. I have a former student who worked on the animation in Life of PI and another who write scores for video games, Both were Kentucky hills and hollars boys with serious passions. They found a way in and made themselves indispensable.

Leave a Reply

