Photo Challenge: Found

I haven’t kept up with meeting the weekly challenges Kim Douillard has been posting but her ideas and images continue to be inspiring. So, what did I find this weekend?

I was waiting for the East River Ferry to go to the Photoville exhibition space in Brooklyn, hoping to be inspired by gobs of photography exhibited in ships’ containers. (it turned out to be pretty awesome!) I had taken this route many times before so I wasn’t finding anything very unusual at the slip as I waited. Until I looked into the water. Through my lens, I cropped away the distractingly beautiful skyline and bridges of NYC to discover the light IN the water! The first shot was thoroughly by accident and once I saw what I found there, I started to try others. None worked for me like that first one. I think the choppiness of the water made for an extra active play of sunlight on the surface. And then, moving back into less close up and more realistic focus, I (again accidentally) caught the purveyor of these lights – Mr. Sun – all alone on smoother waters. I think I like these 2 together for some reason. I wonder if other viewers could help me articulate what is happening here. My inclination would be to fall back on my favorite poetic form, the haiku:

lights on the water

jumping, scattering, emerging

from one

I love “thinking through my lens” as a mantra and a source of inspiration – both the phrase itself and Kim’s blog.

IMG_5899IMG_5894

One thought on “Photo Challenge: Found”

  1. I love that “thinking through my lens” has become a mantra for you…as it has for me! I was trying to explain to some colleagues yesterday why I always make time for photography. It really grounds me and opens me up to new ways of looking at the world…and it lowers stress and makes me happy! A win all the way around! Thanks so much for sharing your experience this weekend.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

